Content Curated By Darin R. McClure & a few photos


George and John’s Excellent Adventures in Quantum Entanglement, Part Two [Video]
March 17, 2013, 7:02 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

George and John’s Excellent Adventures in Quantum Entanglement, Part Two [Video]: The first time I ever saw quantum entanglement for myself was in August 2011 on a road trip to Colgate University. Goodness knows how many blog posts and magazine articles have been written about the quantum realm, invariably describing it as weird. But I’d never actually seen this supposed mind-blowingness with my own eyes, which was mildly embarrassing, since I’d written a number of those posts and articles myself. In graduate school, I’d taken a quantum-mechanics class and filled two avocado-colored spiral notebooks with equations, but not once did the professor actually show us the phenomena the equations described. So when we pulled out of my driveway, I felt like a pilgrim on a voyage for which I’d spent much of my life preparing.This video shows the result. It’s part two of a video project I’ve been working on with John Matson, Sci Am ‘s associate editor for physics, and Eric Olson, the magazine’s video guru. In part one, we and our colleague Mary Karmelek dramatized what quantum entanglement means, metaphorically . Now you get to see the non-metaphorical version. [More]


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

