Content Curated By Darin R. McClure & a few photos

The Weather Prophets “Diesel River” 1986
May 2, 2012, 6:34 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

The Weather Prophets “Diesel River” 1986: The album stands as the group’s finest and one that is certainly worthy of rediscovery for fans of literate and unfailingly adult guitar pop.

Guitarist/vocalist Peter Astor and drummer Dave Morgan formed the jangly Weather Prophets directly after their previous band, the Loft, split in 1985. Astor had been planning his defection from the Loft for some time and was anxious to start anew with more control. The duo had Alan McGee, a friend and major backer of Astor’s and the head of their label, Creation, play bass for the first two songs. After that, Astor made a point to find other members for the band who had no role in the indie scene (the singer often slagged the scene in interviews, claiming it had a false sense of superiority due to lack of success). He called in David Greenwood Goulding to play bass, a friend who was clueless about the Loft, let alone the current music scene. Morgan brought in Oisin Little to play rhythm guitar, rounding out the lineup. McGee ended up managing, and an instant interest in the group was apparent, thanks in no small part that the Loft appeared to be on the brink of greater things when they imploded. However, the Creation stable began to receive a fair amount of negative criticism around this time for their outward ambitions and a sense of direction (or lack thereof) that aimed toward drugginess and traditional rocker attitudes (and, well, the donning of leather pants). Regardless of its reception, the Weather Prophets’ debut single, “Almost Prayed,” was an instant classic for the label, a song that married the Velvet Underground with Creedence Clearwater Revival. Going with the American slant, the band had Lenny Kaye produce the follow-up single, “Naked as the Day You Were Born.” Most fans of the debut soured on it. ~ Andy Kellman, All Music Guide

The Weather Prophets:
Peter Astor: guitar, vox / Oisin Little: guitar / Greenwood Goulding: bass / Dave Morgan: drums 

1. Almost Prayed 2. Worm In My Brain 3. Your Heartbeat Breathes The Life Into Me 4. Stones In My Passway 5. Like Frankie Lymon 6. Wide Open Arms 7. Downbound Train 8. Head Over Heels


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: